Lab Notes - May 14th, 2023

Latest lab notes from David Kennedy

Hi Everyone,

Here is the latest edition of my weekly lab notes. Feel free to forward this along to friends.

Usefulness of ChatGPT

Like many of us, I have been playing and building with ChatGPT. A question I often get is, how are you using ChatGPT? Followed by, are you worried about how well it can write code?

To answer the first question, I’m using it in many different ways. One way I use ChatGPT is to write base code for projects (experiments). A recent example was to write some base code for a chrome extension idea I had. I’ve built them in the past, but it was easier to have ChatGPT generate the base code, and go from there.

For the second question, I'm not too worried about it at the moment. It writes good code, but not perfect code. I find it more as a tool to help speed up tasks. An example may be writing code to help analyze data in a new way. I could spend 30min writing the code or I could describe it to ChatGPT and in 10min be done with the task.

ChatGPT has been very useful as a tool to speed up development and testing. It has lowered the barrier from idea to experiment.

What are you using ChatGPT for? Reply or leave a comment!

YouTube Video of the Week

Funny enough, I started watching the below video after writing the above ChatGPT content. The video is from Nicholas Crown with William Hurley. In the interview they go over Quantum Computing, AI, and much more. Part way through the video, Crown mentions how AI can help people move from idea to doing with little friction. That’s the same feeling I have with AI. To add to that, Hurley said the following statement.

… it (Artificial Intelligence) is the greatest risk mitigation an entrepreneur could ever want …

William Hurley

That’s great insight to where we are heading in a world with AI, and how powerful it can be for entrepreneurs. I know I will continue using AI, and 100% see the benefits of using it as a tool.

The interview has a ton of great nuggets, a highly recommend watch!

Other videos I watched this week:

Quote I’m Pondering

I can’t give you a surefire formula for success, but I can give you a formula for failure: try to please everybody all the time.

Herbert Bayard Swope - American editor and journalist, first recipient of the Pulitzer Prize

The quote for me is a reminder that you can’t please everyone all the time. I know I sometimes struggle with this. I have become better at focusing on myself and what either makes me happy or what is best for me to be doing. If you are always trying to please people, you can easily forget about yourself, and what success means for you. This can be applied from your personal life to your career.

AI Art of the Week

Generated with Midjourney