Lab Notes - May 28th, 2023

Latest lab notes from David Kennedy

Hi Everyone,

Here is the latest edition of my weekly lab notes. Feel free to forward this along to friends.

What, Why, So What

While watching YouTube a month or so ago I came across a video from Shaan Puri about what he learned from the Twitch CEO while he worked there. One framework, he explained, was the what, why, so what framework for communication. Shaan explains he now writes these down, answers them, and finds clarity in what he is attempting to communicate.

So, I decided to give it a shot! I started doing this with bug reports which, by chance, cleanly fit this framework. I’ve been doing this for about a month and it has improved the communication around bugs to concerned parties.

For bug reports, what happened, why it happened, and what we did to or need to do to resolve the bug. This can also be applied to user stories, What are we trying to do, why are we doing this, what do we need to accomplish this?

A simple, yet surprisingly powerful framework. I’m glad I came across it, as it has improved my communication with my team.

Do you have any frameworks that have worked well for you? Let me know in the comments.

The video has a few more frameworks, and other insights from his time at Twitch. Check it out below:

Videos of the Week

AI Art of the Week

Generate with Midjourney